Crafting Hazard

Crafting, Career, and Kids… All Hazardous Materials!

Scooping and I’m not talking ice cream January 13, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — craftinghazard @ 8:00 am

First thing is that I work for a really awesome company. One thing they do for us is have different trainers come out and do classes during our lunch breaks. Yesterday was Pilates. I’m not big into yoga because they want you to be quiet, focus, relax, concentrate. I think nap. I mean if you want me to be quiet I better be sleeping or Grey’s Anatomy must be on. They also play the “nature” music, and all I can think of is having to pee. So I never got into yoga. Pilates I always understood as being very similar, just alot more core excersise than actual stretching.

 

It was an interesting class to say the least, She did play the “nature” music, but I didn’t have to be quiet. So I did talk, and it did distract me my urges to pee every time the waterfall got loud! She took it slow yesterday, cause it was her first day with us, but I do hope next time she picks it up. I need a good workout. This momma usually only gets to exercise during her lunch breaks!

Your probably wondering where the scooping title came from. If you aren’t wondering, just pretend to. Since pilates is all about strengthening your core, they are constantly reminding you to “scoop” in your abs. “Tuck them in your rib cage”. Every time she said scoop I imagined ice cream. Mmmm. I would focus though. I would scoop, and then she would say it 2 minuets later, and I would have to do it again. I guess most people can focus on keeping their abs tight while doing something else. Not me. When it comes to exercising, I can do one thing at a time. My multi-tasking goes out the window. I just wish they had a different term as a reminder, instead of scoop.

I did though have more problems with my co-workers. If you do pilates, please make sure to think about others around you when reading below.

 

1. Feet. I know your suppossed to do it barefoot. But I think that rule should only apply if you are in your own home on your own mat. I learned alot about my fellow workeres by their feet. More than I wanted to know. And not to get descriptive, just know that I will be bringing my own mat from now on. Eww….

 

2.  Breathing. When the instructor says to concentrate on your breathing, it doesn’t mean breathe really loud so everyone hears you. concentrate, focus on your breathing, don’t raise the volume. When you raise the volume, I start to wonder things, that I shouldn’t. I’m leaving it at that.

 

3. Bodily functions. We are human. Our bodies do things. If you know you will be taking a class like pilates, where you will be working your abs, and you will be in weird positions, watch what you eat prior. I won’t mention names, but it was a nuclear war zone in my face thanks to someone who felt the need to consume a lot of brocolli an other agents that aid in the production of WMDs. I understand if it slips, but a constant air of…ew… I can’t even think about it anymore…

 

As you can tell I did have an interesting experience. She will be back next week to do the class again. If we like her we will add her to our workout rotation, so we will see.

 

Leave a Reply

